Carl Tausig's piano solo version of Franz Liszt's "A Faust Symphony": A critical edition of an unpublished manuscript

Date of Award




Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts (D.M.A.)


Music Performance

First Committee Member

Frank Cooper, Committee Chair


Carl Tausig, (1841-1871) one of the most talented students of Franz Liszt, left a for posterity a substantial bulk of unpublished piano solo transcriptions of Symphonic works by Franz Liszt. Among them one of the most demanding and complex is for sure his version of Liszt's A Faust Symphony.The unpublished manuscript by Tausig bears hand corrections by Liszt himself and it is presently deposited in the Archives of the Franz Liszt Museum in Budapest. This doctoral essay aimed not only to digitalize and edit Carl Tausig's manuscript but also to compare Tausig's version with the only other version made by a Liszt pupil, August Stradal (1860-1930). Also parallel investigations were made on Tausig's life and works, the genesis of Liszt's A Faust Symphony and on the Faustian myth.The digitalized score and final recommendations are included at the end of the essay.


Biography; Music

Link to Full Text