A performance edition of Charles Koechlin's Les Chants de Nectaire, Opus 198

Date of Award



Unrestricted access - available worldwide

Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts (D.M.A.)



First Committee Member

Raymond Barr, Committee Chair


French composer Charles Koechlin (1867--1950) wrote one of the longest compositions in the entire flute repertoire, Les Chants de Nectaire, Opus 198--200 (1944). The purpose of this essay is to create a performance edition for the first of these opus numbers that assists in the work's informed preparation and encourages its rightful place in a flutist's standard performed repertoire. The essay presents Koechlin's brief biographical and compositional summaries, the evolution of the composer's art monodique culminating in this collection, the analyses of Opus 198, errata and observations formed by comparing the work's manuscripts, and the variety of challenges the piece creates. These subjects are included to enhance the flutist's comprehension and presentation of the solo work, and theoretical and historical information are considered from the perspective of a performer.Comprised of ninety-six monodies for flute, Les Chants de Nectaire 's three opus numbers have thirty-two movements each. Opus 198 is based on Anatole France's novel, La Revolte des Anges, and features programmatic titles derived directly from the text. Although the analysis specifically pertains to Opus 198, aspects relevant to Opus 199--200 are also discussed.



Link to Full Text


Link to Full Text