Selected woodwind works of Robert Muczynski

Date of Award




Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts (D.M.A.)


Music Performance

First Committee Member

Margaret Donaghue - Committee Chair

Second Committee Member

Luciano Magnanini - Committee Member


Robert Muczynski is a prolific and accomplished composer, with over forty published works to date. He has written in virtually every genre, including solo piano music, a symphony, a suite for orchestra, a concerto for piano and orchestra, two piano trios, and a string trio. He has also composed a substantial body of music for woodwinds that has not been previously researched. An examination and analysis of the following works will provide a much needed emphasis to a facet of this composer's career that has been somewhat neglected. These works include: Fragments for Woodwind Trio (flute, clarinet, and bassoon), Fantasy Trio for Clarinet, Cello, and Piano, Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Chamber Orchestra and Quintet for Winds.The first chapter of this essay contains biographical information regarding the composer, and Chapter 2 consists of a review of related literature. The four subsequent chapters are dedicated to the analysis of the works mentioned above, including performance considerations. The final chapter is a summary focusing on the stylistic development of these woodwind compositions over the thirty year time span in which they were written.



Link to Full Text


Link to Full Text