Publication Date



Open access

Embargo Period


Degree Type

Doctoral Essay

Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)


Musicology (Music)

Date of Defense


First Committee Member

Donald Oglesby

Second Committee Member

Karen Kennedy

Third Committee Member

Tony Boutté

Fourth Committee Member

Frank Cooper

Fifth Committee Member

David Ellison


André Campra (1660-1744) lived and worked in France during the transitional period between Jean-Baptiste Lully (1632-1687) and Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683-1764). He earned a reputation as one of France’s most accomplished composers through his sacred and secular works, including twenty-six major works for Paris Opera, three masses, fifty-three grands motets, and sixty solo motets. The Messe de Requiem’s twentieth-century discovery renewed interest in the Frenchman’s oeuvre. European musicians have embraced André Campra’s Requiem in recent decades, but American ensembles have been slow to engage in performances of Campra’s work. This document attempts to make this masterwork more accessible to modern musicians. It provides biographical information on the composer; a history of the Messe de Requiem; a structural overview; an analysis of each movement; performance practice suggestions; a French-Latin pronunciation guide; an instrumental and vocal usage chart; and a new performance edition for SATBB chorus and orchestra that makes the work more practical for the use of the performer.


André Campra; Requiem Mass; French; Baroque; score edition