Publication Date



Open access

Embargo Period


Degree Type

Doctoral Essay

Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)


Keyboard Performance (Music)

Date of Defense


First Committee Member

Paul Posnak

Second Committee Member

Alan Johnson

Third Committee Member

J. B. Floyd

Fourth Committee Member

Tian Ying


My lecture recital on Leo Ornstein focuses on his first and last notated piano sonatas. Piano Sonata No. 4 was composed in 1924 and Piano Sonata No. 8 in 1990. Biographical information is presented and followed by a study of the two sonatas discussing Ornstein’s compositional process and the elements which are present in both sonatas. Information is included from conversations with Leo Ornstein’s son, Severo Ornstein, as well as pianists Marc-Andre Hamelin and Janice Weber. A final chapter reviewing performance considerations addresses my approach in learning these two works. The performance segment includes excerpts from both sonatas which illustrate compositional traits, the first movements of both sonatas, and one of the four vignettes comprising the second movement of Sonata No. 8.


piano; sonata no. 8; sonata no. 4; Leo Ornstein; piano sonatas